Archives of American Art

Harwood Foundation art archives

Collection ID:
Harwood Foundation
Physical Description:
5 Microfilm reels

Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Ca. 100 artists' files, 1920s-1980s, compiled by the Harwood Foundation, Taos, New Mexico. Also included are files on the Taos Society of Artists, the "Taos Six," and Taos Writers. The files contain biographical data, correspondence, letters from researchers, price lists for works of art, exhibition announcements, catalogs and invitations, newspaper clippings, press releases, printed material, and photographs of works of art.
Scope and Contents
REELS 3255-3256: Files on: William Acheff, Kenneth Adams, Patrocinio Barela, Gustave Baumann, Tom Benrimo, Oscar E. Berninghaus, Morris Blackburn, Ernest L. Blumenschein, Mary Shepard Blumenschein, Helen Greene Blumenschein, Dorothy Engeme Brett, Lawrence Calcagno, Elizabeth Campbell, Louis Catusco, Howard Norton Cook, Regina Tatum Cooke, Ron Cooper, Eanger Irving Couse, Catherine Carter Critcher, Andrew Dasburg, Rex Dolmith, William Herbert Dunton, Ted Egri, R. C. Ellis, Nicolai Fechin, Joseph Amadeus Fleck and Alyce Frank.
Scope and Contents
REELS 3241-3243: Files on: Louise Ganthiers, Leon Gaspard, R. C. Gorman, Blanche Chloe Grant, Worthington E. Hagerman, Barbara Harmon, Elihu Buritt Harwood, Lucy Case Harwood, Claire Haye, Margaret Henn, E. Martin Hennings, Victor Higgins, Joseph Adam Andrew John Imhof, Ned Jacob, Rebecca Salsbury James, Juanita Jaramillo, Walter Willard Johnson, Dora Deborah Kaminsky, Eleanora Kissel, Alice Geneva Glasier Kloss, Jonathan Krout, Susan Kulbacki, Mario Larrinaga, Barbara Latham, D. H. Lawrence, Gisella Loeffler, John Ward Lockwood, Mabel Dodge Luhan, Max Luna, Ila Turner Mcafee, Leal Mack, Beatrice Mandelman, John Marin, Agnes Martin, Willard Midgette, Loren Norman Mozley, Georgia O' Keeffe, Bert G. Phillips, Kenneth G. Price, Angelino Ravagli, Robert Donald Ray, Doel Reed, Charles Henry Reynolds, Louis Ribak, Wesley A. Russell, Leon Gorge Salazar, Bob Saltzman, Fritz Scholder, Jonathan Scott, Joseph Henry Sharp, Mary Shiras, Eugenie Frederica Shonnard, Hyde Solomon, Clay Edgar Spohn, Charles C. Stewart, Bettina Blair Steinke, Earl Stroh, Rita Sutcliffe, Michio Takayama, Yaki Takayma, The Taos Six: Ron Barsano, Robert A. Daughters, Rod Goebel, Walter Gonske, Julian Robles, Ray Vinella, Taos Society of Artists, Taos Writers, Charles W. Thwaites, Mildred Tolbert, Walter Ufer, Harold Joe Waldrum, Randy Lee White, Connie Witt, John Young-Hunter and Artists Biography Files, General A-Z.

Biographical / Historical
Biographical / Historical
Art organization; Taos, New Mexico. Founded 1923 by Lucy Harwood, and conveyed to the University of New Mexico in 1935.

Existence and Location of Copies
35mm microfilm reels 3241-3243 & 3255-3256 available for use only at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and through interlibrary loan.
Existence and Location of Originals
Originals in the Harwood Foundation Art Archives.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Microfilmed as part of the Archives of American Art's Texas project.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Lent for microfilming 1984 by the Harwood Foundation of the University of New Mexico.

Using the Collection
Conditions Governing Access
The Archives of American art does not own the original papers. Use is limited to the microfilm copy.

Keywords table of terms and types.
Keyword Terms Keyword Types
Taos (N.M.) Geographic Search Smithsonian Collections Search ArchiveGrid
Artists -- New Mexico -- Taos Occupation Search Smithsonian Collections Search ArchiveGrid
Art centers -- New Mexico Function Search Smithsonian Collections Search ArchiveGrid
Latino and Latin American artists Topical Search Smithsonian Collections Search ArchiveGrid
Hispanic American artists Topical Search Smithsonian Collections Search ArchiveGrid
Barela, PatrociƱo, -1964 Personal Name Search Smithsonian Collections Search ArchiveGrid
Taos Society of Artists Corporate Name Search Smithsonian Collections Search ArchiveGrid

Repository Contact
Archives of American Art
750 9th Street, NW
Victor Building, Suite 2200
Washington, D.C. 20001