Collapse [ ]
4 Photographic prints
- Collection ID:
National Museum of the American Indian
The St. Mary's Mission school was opened in 1885 by the Episcopal Church, under the direction of Reverend W.J. Cleveland. It was originally built as a boarding school to accommodate between 50 and 60 Lakota students from the Rosebud Reservation and was located 12 miles northeast of the Rosebud Agency. The boarding school housed both boys and girls....